Upbring Head Start (San Antonio College)
1819 N Main Ave Bldg 52, San Antonio, TX 78212
Infant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten · Monday–Friday
8 serious findings across 32 visits in the last 36 months. Most recent serious finding: Jul 10, 2026.
24 inspections · 8 investigations in 36 months · source checked Sep 16, 2026
The everyday details
State facts · provider details pendingSubsidies not accepted in state listing
See fees & availability →Meet Upbring Head Start (San Antonio College)
Provider profileThis provider has not supplied a description yet. Ask about their teaching approach, classroom routines, and what makes their program a fit for your child.
Photo not provided
Photo not provided
Photo not provided
No provider photos have been supplied. These are labeled placeholders, not images of the facility.
What care includes
- Meals providedListed
- Snacks providedListed
- Before-school careNot listed
- After-school careNot listed
- Transportation to/from schoolNot listed
- Drop-in careNot listed
- Part-time careNot listed
- Field tripsNot listed
- Skill classesNot listed
- Weekend careNot listed
- Night careNot listed
- AccreditedNot listed
- Accepts child care subsidiesNot accepted
“Not listed” means unknown, not unavailable.
See all programs, services & policies →Ask about the program.
Ask about the record.
Bring questions about tuition and fit alongside the findings, correction evidence, and gaps in this record.
Build my tour questions →Tuition, without the guesswork
Choose your needs to prepare a quote request. Rates have not been supplied by this provider.
Rate not provided
Care and schedule availability must be confirmed. Missing pricing does not mean care is free.
- Tuition & billing schedule
- Not provided
- Registration · refund terms
- Not provided
- Deposit · whether credited to tuition
- Not provided
- Meals & snacks
- Not provided
- Annual materials fee
- Not provided
- Late pickup fee
- Not provided
Understand your first month’s cost
Request tuition, required fees, deposit credit, and refund terms in writing. A deposit credited to tuition should not be counted twice. We cannot calculate a total without confirmed amounts.
Help with costs
The state lists subsidies as not accepted. Confirm current payment options. Sibling discounts have not been provided.
Openings & waitlists
No provider-confirmed availability has been supplied. An opening is not a reservation.
Infant: availability not confirmed
Ask about your start date, classroom availability, waitlist fees, and when offers are made.
Licensed capacity: 32 children. This is not the number of open places.
Programs & learning
Infant,Toddler,Pre-Kindergarten
Meals Provided ,Snacks Provided
Curriculum and teaching philosophy not provided.
Accreditation information not provided. Licensing does not establish accreditation.
State-sourced · checked Sep 16, 2026. Confirm current details with the provider.
A typical day
The daily schedule has not been supplied. Ask about arrival, meals, outdoor play, rest, learning activities, and pickup.
07:00 AM-04:00 PM
Mon,Tue,Wed,Thu,Fri
Services & accommodations
- Meals providedListed
- Snacks providedListed
- Before-school careNot listed
- After-school careNot listed
- Transportation to/from schoolNot listed
- Drop-in careNot listed
- Part-time careNot listed
- Field tripsNot listed
- Skill classesNot listed
- Weekend careNot listed
- Night careNot listed
- AccreditedNot listed
- Accepts child care subsidiesNot accepted
Languages spoken and interpreter availability not provided.
Care plans, dietary substitutions, and medication training need confirmation.
Entrance, restroom, and classroom accessibility details not provided.
Individual accommodations, specialist access, and staff training not provided.
People, policies & environment
Not listed
Not listed
Individual qualifications, CPR, and first-aid training not provided.
Current classroom staffing and ratios not provided. Ask on your visit.
Parent updates and conference policies not provided.
Authorized pickup and visitor procedures not provided.
Exclusion and return criteria not provided.
Holiday and staff-development calendar not provided.
Evidence, with the follow-through.
Provider descriptions, prices, and photos never change this record. Every finding below comes from published state evidence.
8 serious findings across 32 visits in the last 36 months. Most recent serious finding: Jul 10, 2026.
Last 36 months · window starts Sep 15, 2023
2 standard(s) appear on multiple visits: 746.305(a)(7) (4 visits); 746.3301(i) (4 visits). This is a match of standard identifiers, not a judgment about identical circumstances.
State verification published Jul 10, 2026.
Conditions between visits, current staffing, and day-to-day quality. A correction plan is not verification.
69 visits in our data; 0 unmatched findings. Publication and processing can lag events.
Check the latest finding’s evidence
Report Change in Controlling Person
The controlling persons list was not current at the time of inspection.
State verification published Jul 10, 2026.
Inspection record
Visits available in our Texas data, newest first. Visits with findings are shown in full; runs of clean visits are folded into one line. Findings are quoted from the inspector's report with the Texas risk level beside our severity.
Inspection history is one input into your decision, not a guarantee of safety or a rating of care quality. How to read this record.
- 2026
- Jul 17, 2026 to Jul 17, 20264 inspectionsNo findingsShow
- Jul 17, 2026 inspection
- Jul 17, 2026 inspection
- Jul 17, 2026 inspection
- Jul 17, 2026 inspection
- Jul 10, 2026Inspection1 finding · serious
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Report Change in Controlling Person
The controlling persons list was not current at the time of inspection.
Correction verified Jul 10, 2026. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.305(a)(7).
- Jul 10, 2026Inspection1 finding · serious
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Report Change in Controlling Person
The controlling persons list was not current at the time of inspection.
Correction verified Jul 10, 2026. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.305(a)(7).
- Jul 10, 2026Inspection1 finding · serious
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Report Change in Controlling Person
The controlling persons list was not current at the time of inspection.
Correction verified Jul 10, 2026. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.305(a)(7).
- Jul 10, 2026Inspection1 finding · serious
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Report Change in Controlling Person
The controlling persons list was not current at the time of inspection.
Correction verified Jul 10, 2026. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.305(a)(7).
- Jun 25, 2026 to Jul 8, 20264 inspections and 4 investigationsNo findingsShow
- Jul 8, 2026 self-reported incident
- Jul 8, 2026 self-reported incident
- Jul 8, 2026 self-reported incident
- Jul 8, 2026 self-reported incident
- Jun 25, 2026 inspection
- Jun 25, 2026 inspection
- Jun 25, 2026 inspection
- Jun 25, 2026 inspection
- Jun 23, 2026Self-reported incident1 finding · serious
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Nutrition and Food Service - Must not serve identified foods to allergic child
During the investigation, it was confirmed that a child was served a food allergy.
Correction verified Jul 9, 2026. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.3301(i).
- Jun 23, 2026Self-reported incident1 finding · serious
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Nutrition and Food Service - Must not serve identified foods to allergic child
During the investigation, it was confirmed that a child was served a food allergy.
Correction verified Jul 9, 2026. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.3301(i).
- Jun 23, 2026Self-reported incident1 finding · serious
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Nutrition and Food Service - Must not serve identified foods to allergic child
During the investigation, it was confirmed that a child was served a food allergy.
Correction verified Jul 9, 2026. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.3301(i).
- Jun 23, 2026Self-reported incident1 finding · serious
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Nutrition and Food Service - Must not serve identified foods to allergic child
During the investigation, it was confirmed that a child was served a food allergy.
Correction verified Jul 9, 2026. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.3301(i).
- 2025
- Aug 26, 2025 to Aug 26, 20254 inspectionsNo findingsShow
- Aug 26, 2025 inspection
- Aug 26, 2025 inspection
- Aug 26, 2025 inspection
- Aug 26, 2025 inspection
- 2024
- Sep 11, 2024 to Sep 11, 20244 inspectionsNo findingsShow
- Sep 11, 2024 inspection
- Sep 11, 2024 inspection
- Sep 11, 2024 inspection
- Sep 11, 2024 inspection
- 2023
- Oct 12, 2023 to Oct 12, 20234 inspectionsNo findingsShow
- Oct 12, 2023 inspection
- Oct 12, 2023 inspection
- Oct 12, 2023 inspection
- Oct 12, 2023 inspection
Show 37 older visits, not counted aboveHide older visits
- Jun 16, 2023 to Aug 16, 20238 inspections and 4 investigationsNo findingsShow
- Aug 16, 2023 inspection
- Aug 16, 2023 inspection
- Aug 16, 2023 inspection
- Aug 16, 2023 inspection
- Jun 29, 2023 inspection
- Jun 29, 2023 inspection
- Jun 29, 2023 inspection
- Jun 29, 2023 inspection
- Jun 16, 2023 self-reported incident
- Jun 16, 2023 self-reported incident
- Jun 16, 2023 self-reported incident
- Jun 16, 2023 self-reported incident
- 2022
- Dec 6, 2022 to Dec 14, 20224 inspections and 4 investigationsNo findingsShow
- Dec 14, 2022 inspection
- Dec 14, 2022 inspection
- Dec 14, 2022 inspection
- Dec 14, 2022 inspection
- Dec 6, 2022 complaint investigation
- Dec 6, 2022 complaint investigation
- Dec 6, 2022 complaint investigation
- Dec 6, 2022 complaint investigation
- Oct 19, 2022Inspection1 finding · serious
- SeriousTexas: Medium
Required Personnel Records- signed dated statement that employee attended abuse/neglect training
One of the four staff did not have Form 2947 available for review which indicates a statement signed and dated by the employee verifying the date the employee attended training during orientation that includes an overview of your policy on the prevention, recognition, and reporting of child maltreatment. NOTE: This was corrected when Form 2947 was completed.
Corrected during the inspection. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.901(10).
- Oct 19, 2022Inspection1 finding · serious
- SeriousTexas: Medium
Required Personnel Records- signed dated statement that employee attended abuse/neglect training
One of the four staff did not have Form 2947 available for review which indicates a statement signed and dated by the employee verifying the date the employee attended training during orientation that includes an overview of your policy on the prevention, recognition, and reporting of child maltreatment. NOTE: This was corrected when Form 2947 was completed.
Corrected during the inspection. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.901(10).
- Oct 19, 2022Inspection1 finding · serious
- SeriousTexas: Medium
Required Personnel Records- signed dated statement that employee attended abuse/neglect training
One of the four staff did not have Form 2947 available for review which indicates a statement signed and dated by the employee verifying the date the employee attended training during orientation that includes an overview of your policy on the prevention, recognition, and reporting of child maltreatment. NOTE: This was corrected when Form 2947 was completed.
Corrected during the inspection. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.901(10).
- Oct 19, 2022Inspection1 finding · serious
- SeriousTexas: Medium
Required Personnel Records- signed dated statement that employee attended abuse/neglect training
One of the four staff did not have Form 2947 available for review which indicates a statement signed and dated by the employee verifying the date the employee attended training during orientation that includes an overview of your policy on the prevention, recognition, and reporting of child maltreatment. NOTE: This was corrected when Form 2947 was completed.
Corrected during the inspection. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.901(10).
- Apr 21, 2022 to Apr 21, 20224 inspectionsNo findingsShow
- Apr 21, 2022 inspection
- Apr 21, 2022 inspection
- Apr 21, 2022 inspection
- Apr 21, 2022 inspection
- 2021
- Nov 17, 2021Inspection1 finding · serious
- SeriousTexas: Medium
Written Operational Policies - Promotion of Physical Activity
The operational policy did not specify the type of physical activity, each setting physical activity will take place, and a plan to ensure physical activity occurs when extreme weather condition prohibits.
Correction verified Nov 23, 2021. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.501(a)(18).
- Nov 17, 2021Inspection1 finding · serious
- SeriousTexas: Medium
Written Operational Policies - Promotion of Physical Activity
The operational policy did not specify the type of physical activity, each setting physical activity will take place, and a plan to ensure physical activity occurs when extreme weather condition prohibits.
Correction verified Nov 23, 2021. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.501(a)(18).
- Nov 17, 2021Inspection1 finding · serious
- SeriousTexas: Medium
Written Operational Policies - Promotion of Physical Activity
The operational policy did not specify the type of physical activity, each setting physical activity will take place, and a plan to ensure physical activity occurs when extreme weather condition prohibits.
Correction verified Nov 23, 2021. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.501(a)(18).
- Nov 17, 2021Inspection1 finding · serious
- SeriousTexas: Medium
Written Operational Policies - Promotion of Physical Activity
The operational policy did not specify the type of physical activity, each setting physical activity will take place, and a plan to ensure physical activity occurs when extreme weather condition prohibits.
Correction verified Nov 23, 2021. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.501(a)(18).
- Sep 10, 2021 to Oct 6, 20215 inspectionsNo findingsShow
- Oct 6, 2021 inspection
- Oct 6, 2021 inspection
- Oct 6, 2021 inspection
- Oct 6, 2021 inspection
- Sep 10, 2021 inspection
Source. This facility on the Texas HHSC search. Data reloaded nightly.
Think something here is wrong? Texas corrects its own records; here is how to ask them, and how to tell us. We change nothing ourselves.
Facts from the license
- Permit
- Full Permit, issued Nov 30, 2021
- Capacity
- 32 children (licensed maximum, not openings)
- Ages
- Infant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten
- Hours
- 07:00 AM-04:00 PM · Mon,Tue,Wed,Thu,Fri
- Subsidies
- Not accepted
- County
- Bexar
- Website
- www.upbring.org/programs-and-services/ed
Compare nearby
Same 36-month summary window. Different operating histories and coverage limit comparisons.
| Daycare | Ages | Licensed capacity | Hours | Findings, 36 mo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Upbring Head Start (San Antonio College) this page | Infant–Pre-K | 32 | 7a–4p | 8 ser |
| Baby Boss Learning Center | Infant–School | 81 | 6:30a–6:30p | 20 crit·44 ser·4 min |
| Brighton Center | Infant–School | 55 | 7:30a–5:30p | 12 crit·16 ser |
| Katherine Ryan Program | Toddler–Pre-K | 30 | 7:15a–6p | 16 ser |
| Laurel Heights United Methodist Church | Infant–School | 125 | 7:30a–5:30p | 12 crit·12 ser |
| Lil' Munchkins Child Care Center | Infant–School | 115 | 6:30a–6p | 40 crit·52 ser·8 min |
| Little Learners Academy | Infant–School | 57 | 7a–5p | 12 crit·24 ser·4 min |
- Upbring Head Start (San Antonio College)this pageInfant–Pre-K · 32 licensed capacity8 ser
- Infant–School · 81 licensed capacity20 crit·44 ser·4 min
- Infant–School · 55 licensed capacity12 crit·16 ser
- Toddler–Pre-K · 30 licensed capacity16 ser
- Infant–School · 125 licensed capacity12 crit·12 ser
- Infant–School · 115 licensed capacity40 crit·52 ser·8 min
- Infant–School · 57 licensed capacity12 crit·24 ser·4 min
Your tour, better prepared
- What will we pay in the first month, and what is refundable? Confirm how the deposit is credited.
- Is a place available for our age group and start date? Can you confirm that in writing?
- Who would be our child’s regular teacher, and how are absences covered? What are the current classroom ratios?
- What changed after the finding about “Report Change in Controlling Person”? Can you show the correction evidence and how the procedure is checked today?
- The same standard appears on more than one visit. What has changed to prevent recurrence?
- How do you handle allergies, medication, accessibility, and additional support needs?
Enable JavaScript to save visit notes on this browser.
Contact & location
1819 N Main Ave Bldg 52, San Antonio, TX 78212
State-sourced · checked Sep 16, 2026. Confirm current details with the provider.
State records and provider information have separate sources. Provider claims do not establish independently verified care quality. Missing data is not evidence of an issue-free record.