George Family Development Center Head Start /Head Start
500 Austin St, Richmond, TX 77469
Infant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School · Monday–Friday
4 critical, 4 serious, 4 minor findings across 32 visits in the last 36 months. Most recent critical finding: Sep 20, 2023.
20 inspections · 12 investigations in 36 months · source checked Sep 16, 2026
The everyday details
State facts · provider details pendingSubsidies not accepted in state listing
See fees & availability →Meet George Family Development Center Head Start /Head Start
Provider profileThis provider has not supplied a description yet. Ask about their teaching approach, classroom routines, and what makes their program a fit for your child.
Photo not provided
Photo not provided
Photo not provided
No provider photos have been supplied. These are labeled placeholders, not images of the facility.
What care includes
- Meals providedListed
- Snacks providedListed
- Before-school careNot listed
- After-school careNot listed
- Transportation to/from schoolNot listed
- Drop-in careNot listed
- Part-time careNot listed
- Field tripsNot listed
- Skill classesNot listed
- Weekend careNot listed
- Night careNot listed
- AccreditedNot listed
- Accepts child care subsidiesNot accepted
“Not listed” means unknown, not unavailable.
See all programs, services & policies →Ask about the program.
Ask about the record.
Bring questions about tuition and fit alongside the findings, correction evidence, and gaps in this record.
Build my tour questions →Tuition, without the guesswork
Choose your needs to prepare a quote request. Rates have not been supplied by this provider.
Rate not provided
Care and schedule availability must be confirmed. Missing pricing does not mean care is free.
- Tuition & billing schedule
- Not provided
- Registration · refund terms
- Not provided
- Deposit · whether credited to tuition
- Not provided
- Meals & snacks
- Not provided
- Annual materials fee
- Not provided
- Late pickup fee
- Not provided
Understand your first month’s cost
Request tuition, required fees, deposit credit, and refund terms in writing. A deposit credited to tuition should not be counted twice. We cannot calculate a total without confirmed amounts.
Help with costs
The state lists subsidies as not accepted. Confirm current payment options. Sibling discounts have not been provided.
Openings & waitlists
No provider-confirmed availability has been supplied. An opening is not a reservation.
Infant: availability not confirmed
Ask about your start date, classroom availability, waitlist fees, and when offers are made.
Licensed capacity: 217 children. This is not the number of open places.
Programs & learning
Infant,Toddler,Pre-Kindergarten,School
Meals Provided ,Snacks Provided
Curriculum and teaching philosophy not provided.
Accreditation information not provided. Licensing does not establish accreditation.
State-sourced · checked Sep 16, 2026. Confirm current details with the provider.
A typical day
The daily schedule has not been supplied. Ask about arrival, meals, outdoor play, rest, learning activities, and pickup.
07:30 AM-04:00 PM
Mon,Tue,Wed,Thu,Fri
Services & accommodations
- Meals providedListed
- Snacks providedListed
- Before-school careNot listed
- After-school careNot listed
- Transportation to/from schoolNot listed
- Drop-in careNot listed
- Part-time careNot listed
- Field tripsNot listed
- Skill classesNot listed
- Weekend careNot listed
- Night careNot listed
- AccreditedNot listed
- Accepts child care subsidiesNot accepted
Languages spoken and interpreter availability not provided.
Care plans, dietary substitutions, and medication training need confirmation.
Entrance, restroom, and classroom accessibility details not provided.
Individual accommodations, specialist access, and staff training not provided.
People, policies & environment
Not listed
Not listed
Individual qualifications, CPR, and first-aid training not provided.
Current classroom staffing and ratios not provided. Ask on your visit.
Parent updates and conference policies not provided.
Authorized pickup and visitor procedures not provided.
Exclusion and return criteria not provided.
Holiday and staff-development calendar not provided.
Evidence, with the follow-through.
Provider descriptions, prices, and photos never change this record. Every finding below comes from published state evidence.
4 critical, 4 serious, 4 minor findings across 32 visits in the last 36 months. Most recent critical finding: Sep 20, 2023.
Last 36 months · window starts Sep 15, 2023
3 standard(s) appear on multiple visits: 746.303(b) (4 visits); 746.4907(a)(1) (4 visits); 746.1205(a)(5) (4 visits). This is a match of standard identifiers, not a judgment about identical circumstances.
State verification published Jan 24, 2025.
Conditions between visits, current staffing, and day-to-day quality. A correction plan is not verification.
56 visits in our data; 0 unmatched findings. Publication and processing can lag events.
Check the latest finding’s evidence
Report Number of Employees
The operation is being cited by assessment because the operation failed to report the number of employees left the childcare center by the previous calendar year 2024.
State verification published Jan 24, 2025.
Inspection record
Visits available in our Texas data, newest first. Visits with findings are shown in full; runs of clean visits are folded into one line. Findings are quoted from the inspector's report with the Texas risk level beside our severity.
Inspection history is one input into your decision, not a guarantee of safety or a rating of care quality. How to read this record.
- 2026
- Aug 11, 2026 to Aug 11, 20264 inspectionsNo findingsShow
- Aug 11, 2026 inspection
- Aug 11, 2026 inspection
- Aug 11, 2026 inspection
- Aug 11, 2026 inspection
- 2025
- Mar 20, 2025 to Aug 15, 20254 inspections and 4 investigationsNo findingsShow
- Aug 15, 2025 inspection
- Aug 15, 2025 inspection
- Aug 15, 2025 inspection
- Aug 15, 2025 inspection
- Mar 20, 2025 complaint investigation
- Mar 20, 2025 complaint investigation
- Mar 20, 2025 complaint investigation
- Mar 20, 2025 complaint investigation
- Jan 21, 2025Assessment1 finding · minor
- MinorTexas: Medium Low
Report Number of Employees
The operation is being cited by assessment because the operation failed to report the number of employees left the childcare center by the previous calendar year 2024.
Correction verified Jan 24, 2025. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.303(b).
- Jan 21, 2025Assessment1 finding · minor
- MinorTexas: Medium Low
Report Number of Employees
The operation is being cited by assessment because the operation failed to report the number of employees left the childcare center by the previous calendar year 2024.
Correction verified Jan 24, 2025. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.303(b).
- Jan 21, 2025Assessment1 finding · minor
- MinorTexas: Medium Low
Report Number of Employees
The operation is being cited by assessment because the operation failed to report the number of employees left the childcare center by the previous calendar year 2024.
Correction verified Jan 24, 2025. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.303(b).
- Jan 21, 2025Assessment1 finding · minor
- MinorTexas: Medium Low
Report Number of Employees
The operation is being cited by assessment because the operation failed to report the number of employees left the childcare center by the previous calendar year 2024.
Correction verified Jan 24, 2025. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.303(b).
- 2024
- Sep 3, 2024Inspection1 finding · serious
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Installation and Maintenance of Loose-fill Surfacing - Six Inches if Equipment 5 Ft or Less
The operation did not maintain the loose-fill surfacing material to a depth of at least six inches outside the pre-k playground.
Correction verified Sep 23, 2024. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.4907(a)(1).
- Sep 3, 2024Inspection1 finding · serious
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Installation and Maintenance of Loose-fill Surfacing - Six Inches if Equipment 5 Ft or Less
The operation did not maintain the loose-fill surfacing material to a depth of at least six inches outside the pre-k playground.
Correction verified Sep 23, 2024. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.4907(a)(1).
- Sep 3, 2024Inspection1 finding · serious
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Installation and Maintenance of Loose-fill Surfacing - Six Inches if Equipment 5 Ft or Less
The operation did not maintain the loose-fill surfacing material to a depth of at least six inches outside the pre-k playground.
Correction verified Sep 23, 2024. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.4907(a)(1).
- Sep 3, 2024Inspection1 finding · serious
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Installation and Maintenance of Loose-fill Surfacing - Six Inches if Equipment 5 Ft or Less
The operation did not maintain the loose-fill surfacing material to a depth of at least six inches outside the pre-k playground.
Correction verified Sep 23, 2024. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.4907(a)(1).
- 2023
- Oct 2, 2023 to Oct 30, 20238 inspectionsNo findingsShow
- Oct 30, 2023 inspection
- Oct 30, 2023 inspection
- Oct 30, 2023 inspection
- Oct 30, 2023 inspection
- Oct 2, 2023 inspection
- Oct 2, 2023 inspection
- Oct 2, 2023 inspection
- Oct 2, 2023 inspection
- Sep 20, 2023Self-reported incident1 finding · critical
- CriticalTexas: High
Responsibilities of Caregivers - Intervene to ensure each child's safety
A child was left unattended and unsupervised inside the pre-k playground.
Correction verified Oct 30, 2023. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.1205(a)(5).
- Sep 20, 2023Self-reported incident1 finding · critical
- CriticalTexas: High
Responsibilities of Caregivers - Intervene to ensure each child's safety
A child was left unattended and unsupervised inside the pre-k playground.
Correction verified Oct 30, 2023. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.1205(a)(5).
- Sep 20, 2023Self-reported incident1 finding · critical
- CriticalTexas: High
Responsibilities of Caregivers - Intervene to ensure each child's safety
A child was left unattended and unsupervised inside the pre-k playground.
Correction verified Oct 30, 2023. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.1205(a)(5).
- Sep 20, 2023Self-reported incident1 finding · critical
- CriticalTexas: High
Responsibilities of Caregivers - Intervene to ensure each child's safety
A child was left unattended and unsupervised inside the pre-k playground.
Correction verified Oct 30, 2023. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.1205(a)(5).
Show 24 older visits, not counted aboveHide older visits
- Sep 8, 2023 to Sep 8, 20234 inspectionsNo findingsShow
- Sep 8, 2023 inspection
- Sep 8, 2023 inspection
- Sep 8, 2023 inspection
- Sep 8, 2023 inspection
- 2022
- Oct 3, 2022 to Dec 7, 20228 inspectionsNo findingsShow
- Dec 7, 2022 inspection
- Dec 7, 2022 inspection
- Dec 7, 2022 inspection
- Dec 7, 2022 inspection
- Oct 3, 2022 inspection
- Oct 3, 2022 inspection
- Oct 3, 2022 inspection
- Oct 3, 2022 inspection
- Mar 2, 2022Assessment1 finding · minor
- MinorTexas: Medium Low
Report Number of Employees
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required.
Correction verified Mar 4, 2022. Standard 746.303(b).
- Mar 2, 2022Assessment1 finding · minor
- MinorTexas: Medium Low
Report Number of Employees
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required.
Correction verified Mar 4, 2022. Standard 746.303(b).
- Mar 2, 2022Assessment1 finding · minor
- MinorTexas: Medium Low
Report Number of Employees
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required.
Correction verified Mar 4, 2022. Standard 746.303(b).
- Mar 2, 2022Assessment1 finding · minor
- MinorTexas: Medium Low
Report Number of Employees
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required.
Correction verified Mar 4, 2022. Standard 746.303(b).
- 2021
- Oct 6, 2021 to Nov 30, 20218 inspectionsNo findingsShow
- Nov 30, 2021 inspection
- Nov 30, 2021 inspection
- Nov 30, 2021 inspection
- Nov 30, 2021 inspection
- Oct 6, 2021 inspection
- Oct 6, 2021 inspection
- Oct 6, 2021 inspection
- Oct 6, 2021 inspection
Source. This facility on the Texas HHSC search. Data reloaded nightly.
Think something here is wrong? Texas corrects its own records; here is how to ask them, and how to tell us. We change nothing ourselves.
Facts from the license
- Permit
- Full Permit, issued Oct 3, 2016
- Capacity
- 217 children (licensed maximum, not openings)
- Ages
- Infant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
- Hours
- 07:30 AM-04:00 PM · Mon,Tue,Wed,Thu,Fri
- Subsidies
- Not accepted
- County
- Fort Bend
Compare nearby
Same 36-month summary window. Different operating histories and coverage limit comparisons.
| Daycare | Ages | Licensed capacity | Hours | Findings, 36 mo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| George Family Development Center Head Start /Head Start this page | Infant–School | 217 | 7:30a–4p | 4 crit·4 ser·4 min |
| 5 Star Learning Academy | Infant–School | 69 | 6:30a–5:30p | 8 crit·32 ser |
| Children's Lighthouse of Rosenberg | Infant–School | 246 | 6:30a–6:30p | 4 crit·4 ser·4 min |
| Christine Smith Early Head Start | Infant–School | 170 | 7:30a–4p | Clear |
| Gingerbread Kids Academy | Infant–School | 140 | 6:30a–6:30p | 4 crit·24 ser·8 min |
| Gingerbread Kids Academy/Arredondo After School Program | School | 60 | 2:30p–6:30p | 4 ser |
| Gingerbread Kids Academy/Hutchison Asp | Pre-K–School | 48 | 2:30p–6:30p | 4 ser·4 min |
- George Family Development Center Head Start /Head Startthis pageInfant–School · 217 licensed capacity4 crit·4 ser·4 min
- Infant–School · 69 licensed capacity8 crit·32 ser
- Infant–School · 246 licensed capacity4 crit·4 ser·4 min
- Infant–School · 170 licensed capacityClear
- Infant–School · 140 licensed capacity4 crit·24 ser·8 min
- School · 60 licensed capacity4 ser
- Pre-K–School · 48 licensed capacity4 ser·4 min
Your tour, better prepared
- What will we pay in the first month, and what is refundable? Confirm how the deposit is credited.
- Is a place available for our age group and start date? Can you confirm that in writing?
- Who would be our child’s regular teacher, and how are absences covered? What are the current classroom ratios?
- What changed after the finding about “Report Number of Employees”? Can you show the correction evidence and how the procedure is checked today?
- The same standard appears on more than one visit. What has changed to prevent recurrence?
- How do you handle allergies, medication, accessibility, and additional support needs?
Enable JavaScript to save visit notes on this browser.
Contact & location
500 Austin St, Richmond, TX 77469
State-sourced · checked Sep 16, 2026. Confirm current details with the provider.
State records and provider information have separate sources. Provider claims do not establish independently verified care quality. Missing data is not evidence of an issue-free record.