YMCA Children's Academy at Avenue Center
3517 Irvington Blvd Ste 101, Houston, TX 77009
Infant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School · Monday–Friday
8 critical findings across 60 visits in the last 36 months. Most recent critical finding: May 2, 2024.
36 inspections · 24 investigations in 36 months · source checked Sep 17, 2026
The everyday details
State facts · provider details pendingSubsidies accepted in state listing
See fees & availability →Meet YMCA Children's Academy at Avenue Center
Provider profileThis provider has not supplied a description yet. Ask about their teaching approach, classroom routines, and what makes their program a fit for your child.
Photo not provided
Photo not provided
Photo not provided
No provider photos have been supplied. These are labeled placeholders, not images of the facility.
What care includes
- Meals providedListed
- Snacks providedListed
- Before-school careNot listed
- After-school careNot listed
- Transportation to/from schoolNot listed
- Drop-in careNot listed
- Part-time careListed
- Field tripsListed
- Skill classesNot listed
- Weekend careNot listed
- Night careNot listed
- AccreditedNot listed
- Accepts child care subsidiesListed
“Not listed” means unknown, not unavailable.
See all programs, services & policies →Ask about the program.
Ask about the record.
Bring questions about tuition and fit alongside the findings, correction evidence, and gaps in this record.
Build my tour questions →Tuition, without the guesswork
Choose your needs to prepare a quote request. Rates have not been supplied by this provider.
Rate not provided
Care and schedule availability must be confirmed. Missing pricing does not mean care is free.
- Tuition & billing schedule
- Not provided
- Registration · refund terms
- Not provided
- Deposit · whether credited to tuition
- Not provided
- Meals & snacks
- Not provided
- Annual materials fee
- Not provided
- Late pickup fee
- Not provided
Understand your first month’s cost
Request tuition, required fees, deposit credit, and refund terms in writing. A deposit credited to tuition should not be counted twice. We cannot calculate a total without confirmed amounts.
Help with costs
The state lists subsidy acceptance. Confirm your program, copay, and funded places. Sibling discounts have not been provided.
Openings & waitlists
No provider-confirmed availability has been supplied. An opening is not a reservation.
Infant: availability not confirmed
Ask about your start date, classroom availability, waitlist fees, and when offers are made.
Licensed capacity: 72 children. This is not the number of open places.
Programs & learning
Infant,Toddler,Pre-Kindergarten,School
Meals Provided ,Snacks Provided,Part Time Care,Field Trips
Curriculum and teaching philosophy not provided.
Accreditation information not provided. Licensing does not establish accreditation.
State-sourced · checked Sep 17, 2026. Confirm current details with the provider.
A typical day
The daily schedule has not been supplied. Ask about arrival, meals, outdoor play, rest, learning activities, and pickup.
06:30 AM-06:30 PM
Mon,Tue,Wed,Thu,Fri
Services & accommodations
- Meals providedListed
- Snacks providedListed
- Before-school careNot listed
- After-school careNot listed
- Transportation to/from schoolNot listed
- Drop-in careNot listed
- Part-time careListed
- Field tripsListed
- Skill classesNot listed
- Weekend careNot listed
- Night careNot listed
- AccreditedNot listed
- Accepts child care subsidiesListed
Languages spoken and interpreter availability not provided.
Care plans, dietary substitutions, and medication training need confirmation.
Entrance, restroom, and classroom accessibility details not provided.
Individual accommodations, specialist access, and staff training not provided.
People, policies & environment
Not listed
Not listed
Individual qualifications, CPR, and first-aid training not provided.
Current classroom staffing and ratios not provided. Ask on your visit.
Parent updates and conference policies not provided.
Authorized pickup and visitor procedures not provided.
Exclusion and return criteria not provided.
Holiday and staff-development calendar not provided.
Evidence, with the follow-through.
Provider descriptions, prices, and photos never change this record. Every finding below comes from published state evidence.
8 critical findings across 60 visits in the last 36 months. Most recent critical finding: May 2, 2024.
Last 36 months · window starts Sep 15, 2023
2 standard(s) appear on multiple visits: 746.1205(a)(4) (4 visits); 746.307(b)(4) (4 visits). This is a match of standard identifiers, not a judgment about identical circumstances.
State verification published Jun 28, 2024.
Conditions between visits, current staffing, and day-to-day quality. A correction plan is not verification.
80 visits in our data; 0 unmatched findings. Publication and processing can lag events.
Check the latest finding’s evidence
Supervision ensures each child?s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child?s on going activity
There is sufficient evidence to support supervision concerns.
State verification published Jun 28, 2024.
Inspection record
Visits available in our Texas data, newest first. Visits with findings are shown in full; runs of clean visits are folded into one line. Findings are quoted from the inspector's report with the Texas risk level beside our severity.
Inspection history is one input into your decision, not a guarantee of safety or a rating of care quality. How to read this record.
- 2026
- Jun 3, 2026 to Aug 19, 202612 inspectionsNo findingsShow
- Aug 19, 2026 inspection
- Aug 19, 2026 inspection
- Aug 19, 2026 inspection
- Aug 19, 2026 inspection
- Jul 7, 2026 inspection
- Jul 7, 2026 inspection
- Jul 7, 2026 inspection
- Jul 7, 2026 inspection
- Jun 3, 2026 inspection
- Jun 3, 2026 inspection
- Jun 3, 2026 inspection
- Jun 3, 2026 inspection
- 2025
- Mar 20, 2025 to Dec 17, 20258 inspections and 12 investigationsNo findingsShow
- Dec 17, 2025 inspection
- Dec 17, 2025 inspection
- Dec 17, 2025 inspection
- Dec 17, 2025 inspection
- Dec 16, 2025 complaint investigation
- Dec 16, 2025 complaint investigation
- Dec 16, 2025 complaint investigation
- Dec 16, 2025 complaint investigation
- Jul 1, 2025 inspection
- Jul 1, 2025 inspection
- Jul 1, 2025 inspection
- Jul 1, 2025 inspection
- Mar 25, 2025 complaint investigation
- Mar 25, 2025 complaint investigation
- Mar 25, 2025 complaint investigation
- Mar 25, 2025 complaint investigation
- Mar 20, 2025 self-reported incident
- Mar 20, 2025 self-reported incident
- Mar 20, 2025 self-reported incident
- Mar 20, 2025 self-reported incident
- 2024
- Jun 28, 2024 to Dec 11, 202416 inspections and 8 investigationsNo findingsShow
- Dec 11, 2024 inspection
- Dec 11, 2024 inspection
- Dec 11, 2024 inspection
- Dec 11, 2024 inspection
- Dec 4, 2024 complaint investigation
- Dec 4, 2024 complaint investigation
- Dec 4, 2024 complaint investigation
- Dec 4, 2024 complaint investigation
- Nov 20, 2024 inspection
- Nov 20, 2024 inspection
- Nov 20, 2024 inspection
- Nov 20, 2024 inspection
- Nov 14, 2024 complaint investigation
- Nov 14, 2024 complaint investigation
- Nov 14, 2024 complaint investigation
- Nov 14, 2024 complaint investigation
- Aug 27, 2024 inspection
- Aug 27, 2024 inspection
- Aug 27, 2024 inspection
- Aug 27, 2024 inspection
- Jun 28, 2024 inspection
- Jun 28, 2024 inspection
- Jun 28, 2024 inspection
- Jun 28, 2024 inspection
- May 2, 2024Self-reported incident2 findings · critical
- CriticalTexas: High
Supervision ensures each child?s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child?s on going activity
There is sufficient evidence to support supervision concerns.
Correction verified Jun 28, 2024. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.1205(a)(4).
- CriticalTexas: High
Parental Communication - Situation that Placed a Child at Risk
There is sufficient evidence to support after ensuring the safety of a child, the parents were not notified immediately after the child was involved in a non-routine situation that placed a child at risk for injury or harm.
Correction verified Jun 28, 2024. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.307(b)(4).
- May 2, 2024Self-reported incident2 findings · critical
- CriticalTexas: High
Parental Communication - Situation that Placed a Child at Risk
There is sufficient evidence to support after ensuring the safety of a child, the parents were not notified immediately after the child was involved in a non-routine situation that placed a child at risk for injury or harm.
Correction verified Jun 28, 2024. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.307(b)(4).
- CriticalTexas: High
Supervision ensures each child?s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child?s on going activity
There is sufficient evidence to support supervision concerns.
Correction verified Jun 28, 2024. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.1205(a)(4).
- May 2, 2024Self-reported incident2 findings · critical
- CriticalTexas: High
Supervision ensures each child?s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child?s on going activity
There is sufficient evidence to support supervision concerns.
Correction verified Jun 28, 2024. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.1205(a)(4).
- CriticalTexas: High
Parental Communication - Situation that Placed a Child at Risk
There is sufficient evidence to support after ensuring the safety of a child, the parents were not notified immediately after the child was involved in a non-routine situation that placed a child at risk for injury or harm.
Correction verified Jun 28, 2024. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.307(b)(4).
- May 2, 2024Self-reported incident2 findings · critical
- CriticalTexas: High
Parental Communication - Situation that Placed a Child at Risk
There is sufficient evidence to support after ensuring the safety of a child, the parents were not notified immediately after the child was involved in a non-routine situation that placed a child at risk for injury or harm.
Correction verified Jun 28, 2024. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.307(b)(4).
- CriticalTexas: High
Supervision ensures each child?s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child?s on going activity
There is sufficient evidence to support supervision concerns.
Correction verified Jun 28, 2024. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.1205(a)(4).
Show 20 older visits, not counted aboveHide older visits
- 2023
- Sep 6, 2023Inspection2 findings · critical
- CriticalTexas: High
Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months
There was no current annual fire inspection report available for review during the inspection. The most recent report was dated 7/7/22.
Correction verified Oct 17, 2023. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.5101(a).
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Fire Extinguishers Serviced
Fire extinguishers were observed last serviced 5/2022.
Correction verified Sep 22, 2023. Standard 746.5307(b).
- Sep 6, 2023Inspection2 findings · critical
- CriticalTexas: High
Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months
There was no current annual fire inspection report available for review during the inspection. The most recent report was dated 7/7/22.
Correction verified Oct 17, 2023. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.5101(a).
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Fire Extinguishers Serviced
Fire extinguishers were observed last serviced 5/2022.
Correction verified Sep 22, 2023. Standard 746.5307(b).
- Sep 6, 2023Inspection2 findings · critical
- CriticalTexas: High
Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months
There was no current annual fire inspection report available for review during the inspection. The most recent report was dated 7/7/22.
Correction verified Oct 17, 2023. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.5101(a).
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Fire Extinguishers Serviced
Fire extinguishers were observed last serviced 5/2022.
Correction verified Sep 22, 2023. Standard 746.5307(b).
- Sep 6, 2023Inspection2 findings · critical
- CriticalTexas: High
Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months
There was no current annual fire inspection report available for review during the inspection. The most recent report was dated 7/7/22.
Correction verified Oct 17, 2023. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.5101(a).
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Fire Extinguishers Serviced
Fire extinguishers were observed last serviced 5/2022.
Correction verified Sep 22, 2023. Standard 746.5307(b).
- Feb 3, 2023Assessment1 finding · minor
- MinorTexas: Medium Low
Report Number of Employees
The operation did not report the number of employees that left employment in the 2022 calendar year by January 15.
Correction verified Feb 8, 2023. Standard 746.303(b).
- Feb 3, 2023Assessment1 finding · minor
- MinorTexas: Medium Low
Report Number of Employees
The operation did not report the number of employees that left employment in the 2022 calendar year by January 15.
Correction verified Feb 8, 2023. Standard 746.303(b).
- Feb 3, 2023Assessment1 finding · minor
- MinorTexas: Medium Low
Report Number of Employees
The operation did not report the number of employees that left employment in the 2022 calendar year by January 15.
Correction verified Feb 8, 2023. Standard 746.303(b).
- Feb 3, 2023Assessment1 finding · minor
- MinorTexas: Medium Low
Report Number of Employees
The operation did not report the number of employees that left employment in the 2022 calendar year by January 15.
Correction verified Feb 8, 2023. Standard 746.303(b).
- 2022
- Mar 9, 2022 to Sep 26, 20228 inspectionsNo findingsShow
- Sep 26, 2022 inspection
- Sep 26, 2022 inspection
- Sep 26, 2022 inspection
- Sep 26, 2022 inspection
- Mar 9, 2022 inspection
- Mar 9, 2022 inspection
- Mar 9, 2022 inspection
- Mar 9, 2022 inspection
- Feb 25, 2022Assessment1 finding · minor
- MinorTexas: Medium Low
Report Number of Employees
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required.
Correction verified Feb 25, 2022. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.303(b).
- Feb 25, 2022Assessment1 finding · minor
- MinorTexas: Medium Low
Report Number of Employees
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required.
Correction verified Feb 25, 2022. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.303(b).
- Feb 25, 2022Assessment1 finding · minor
- MinorTexas: Medium Low
Report Number of Employees
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required.
Correction verified Feb 25, 2022. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.303(b).
- Feb 25, 2022Assessment1 finding · minor
- MinorTexas: Medium Low
Report Number of Employees
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required.
Correction verified Feb 25, 2022. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.303(b).
Source. This facility on the Texas HHSC search. Data reloaded nightly.
Think something here is wrong? Texas corrects its own records; here is how to ask them, and how to tell us. We change nothing ourselves.
Facts from the license
- Permit
- Full Permit, issued Sep 22, 2021
- Capacity
- 72 children (licensed maximum, not openings)
- Ages
- Infant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
- Hours
- 06:30 AM-06:30 PM · Mon,Tue,Wed,Thu,Fri
- Subsidies
- Accepted
- County
- Harris
- Website
- ymcahouston.org
Compare nearby
Same 36-month summary window. Different operating histories and coverage limit comparisons.
| Daycare | Ages | Licensed capacity | Hours | Findings, 36 mo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| YMCA Children's Academy at Avenue Center this page | Infant–School | 72 | 6:30a–6:30p | 8 crit |
| Browning Head Start Center | Infant–Pre-K | 87 | 7:15a–3:30p | Clear |
| Dreamland Daycare & Early Learning Center | Infant–School | 63 | 7a–7p | 4 crit·12 ser |
| Greater Heights School | Infant–School | 307 | 6:30a–6p | Clear |
| Kidventure After School at Travis Elementary | School | 250 | 2:50p–6p | Clear |
| St Marks Child Development | Infant–School | 97 | 9a–3p | 4 crit·28 ser |
| The Learning Experience- Houston Heights | Infant–Pre-K | 256 | 6:30a–6:30p | No findings |
- YMCA Children's Academy at Avenue Centerthis pageInfant–School · 72 licensed capacity8 crit
- Infant–Pre-K · 87 licensed capacityClear
- Infant–School · 63 licensed capacity4 crit·12 ser
- Infant–School · 307 licensed capacityClear
- School · 250 licensed capacityClear
- Infant–School · 97 licensed capacity4 crit·28 ser
- Infant–Pre-K · 256 licensed capacityNo findings
Your tour, better prepared
- What will we pay in the first month, and what is refundable? Confirm how the deposit is credited.
- Is a place available for our age group and start date? Can you confirm that in writing?
- Who would be our child’s regular teacher, and how are absences covered? What are the current classroom ratios?
- What changed after the finding about “Supervision ensures each child?s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child?s on going activity”? Can you show the correction evidence and how the procedure is checked today?
- The same standard appears on more than one visit. What has changed to prevent recurrence?
- How do you handle allergies, medication, accessibility, and additional support needs?
Enable JavaScript to save visit notes on this browser.
Contact & location
3517 Irvington Blvd Ste 101, Houston, TX 77009
State-sourced · checked Sep 17, 2026. Confirm current details with the provider.
State records and provider information have separate sources. Provider claims do not establish independently verified care quality. Missing data is not evidence of an issue-free record.