First Steps Montessori School
2450 River Oaks Blvd, Houston, TX 77019
Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School · Monday–Friday
Texas lists conditions on this permit. Read them on the state record.
12 serious findings across 17 visits in the last 36 months. Most recent serious finding: Sep 20, 2024.
17 inspections · 0 investigations in 36 months · source checked Sep 16, 2026
The everyday details
State facts · provider details pendingSubsidies not accepted in state listing
See fees & availability →Meet First Steps Montessori School
Provider profileThis provider has not supplied a description yet. Ask about their teaching approach, classroom routines, and what makes their program a fit for your child.
Photo not provided
Photo not provided
Photo not provided
No provider photos have been supplied. These are labeled placeholders, not images of the facility.
What care includes
- Meals providedNot listed
- Snacks providedNot listed
- Before-school careNot listed
- After-school careNot listed
- Transportation to/from schoolNot listed
- Drop-in careNot listed
- Part-time careListed
- Field tripsNot listed
- Skill classesListed
- Weekend careNot listed
- Night careNot listed
- AccreditedNot listed
- Accepts child care subsidiesNot accepted
“Not listed” means unknown, not unavailable.
See all programs, services & policies →Ask about the program.
Ask about the record.
Bring questions about tuition and fit alongside the findings, correction evidence, and gaps in this record.
Build my tour questions →Tuition, without the guesswork
Choose your needs to prepare a quote request. Rates have not been supplied by this provider.
Rate not provided
Care and schedule availability must be confirmed. Missing pricing does not mean care is free.
- Tuition & billing schedule
- Not provided
- Registration · refund terms
- Not provided
- Deposit · whether credited to tuition
- Not provided
- Meals & snacks
- Not provided
- Annual materials fee
- Not provided
- Late pickup fee
- Not provided
Understand your first month’s cost
Request tuition, required fees, deposit credit, and refund terms in writing. A deposit credited to tuition should not be counted twice. We cannot calculate a total without confirmed amounts.
Help with costs
The state lists subsidies as not accepted. Confirm current payment options. Sibling discounts have not been provided.
Openings & waitlists
No provider-confirmed availability has been supplied. An opening is not a reservation.
Toddler: availability not confirmed
Ask about your start date, classroom availability, waitlist fees, and when offers are made.
Licensed capacity: 140 children. This is not the number of open places.
Programs & learning
Toddler,Pre-Kindergarten,School
Skill Classes,Part Time Care
Curriculum and teaching philosophy not provided.
Accreditation information not provided. Licensing does not establish accreditation.
State-sourced · checked Sep 16, 2026. Confirm current details with the provider.
A typical day
The daily schedule has not been supplied. Ask about arrival, meals, outdoor play, rest, learning activities, and pickup.
08:15 AM-02:30 PM
Mon,Tue,Wed,Thu,Fri
Services & accommodations
- Meals providedNot listed
- Snacks providedNot listed
- Before-school careNot listed
- After-school careNot listed
- Transportation to/from schoolNot listed
- Drop-in careNot listed
- Part-time careListed
- Field tripsNot listed
- Skill classesListed
- Weekend careNot listed
- Night careNot listed
- AccreditedNot listed
- Accepts child care subsidiesNot accepted
Languages spoken and interpreter availability not provided.
Care plans, dietary substitutions, and medication training need confirmation.
Entrance, restroom, and classroom accessibility details not provided.
Individual accommodations, specialist access, and staff training not provided.
People, policies & environment
Not listed
Not listed
Individual qualifications, CPR, and first-aid training not provided.
Current classroom staffing and ratios not provided. Ask on your visit.
Parent updates and conference policies not provided.
Authorized pickup and visitor procedures not provided.
Exclusion and return criteria not provided.
Holiday and staff-development calendar not provided.
Evidence, with the follow-through.
Provider descriptions, prices, and photos never change this record. Every finding below comes from published state evidence.
12 serious findings across 17 visits in the last 36 months. Most recent serious finding: Sep 20, 2024.
Last 36 months · window starts Sep 15, 2023
3 standard(s) appear on multiple visits: 746.5405 (4 visits); 746.3805(b)(1) (4 visits); 746.5103 (4 visits). This is a match of standard identifiers, not a judgment about identical circumstances.
State verification published Sep 25, 2024.
Conditions between visits, current staffing, and day-to-day quality. A correction plan is not verification.
29 visits in our data; 0 unmatched findings. Publication and processing can lag events.
Check the latest finding’s evidence
Documentation of Gas Leak Inspection
The last gas inspection was conducted on 8/22/22.
State verification published Sep 25, 2024.
Inspection record
Visits available in our Texas data, newest first. Visits with findings are shown in full; runs of clean visits are folded into one line. Findings are quoted from the inspector's report with the Texas risk level beside our severity.
Inspection history is one input into your decision, not a guarantee of safety or a rating of care quality. How to read this record.
- 2026
- Sep 14, 2026InspectionNo findings
- 2025
- Sep 19, 2025 to Sep 24, 20258 inspectionsNo findingsShow
- Sep 24, 2025 inspection
- Sep 24, 2025 inspection
- Sep 24, 2025 inspection
- Sep 24, 2025 inspection
- Sep 19, 2025 inspection
- Sep 19, 2025 inspection
- Sep 19, 2025 inspection
- Sep 19, 2025 inspection
- 2024
- Sep 20, 2024Inspection3 findings · serious
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Documentation of Gas Leak Inspection
The last gas inspection was conducted on 8/22/22.
Correction verified Sep 25, 2024. Standard 746.5405.
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Administering Medication - Original Container with Child's Name, Date
3 medications missing date received from parent. Note: this was corrected at inspection when the lead caregiver added the date on the medication.
Corrected during the inspection. Standard 746.3805(b)(1).
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Documentation of Fire Inspection
The last fire marshal inspection was conducted on 9/5/2024 and needs documentation.
Correction verified Sep 25, 2024. Standard 746.5103.
- Sep 20, 2024Inspection3 findings · serious
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Documentation of Fire Inspection
The last fire marshal inspection was conducted on 9/5/2024 and needs documentation.
Correction verified Sep 25, 2024. Standard 746.5103.
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Administering Medication - Original Container with Child's Name, Date
3 medications missing date received from parent. Note: this was corrected at inspection when the lead caregiver added the date on the medication.
Corrected during the inspection. Standard 746.3805(b)(1).
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Documentation of Gas Leak Inspection
The last gas inspection was conducted on 8/22/22.
Correction verified Sep 25, 2024. Standard 746.5405.
- Sep 20, 2024Inspection3 findings · serious
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Documentation of Fire Inspection
The last fire marshal inspection was conducted on 9/5/2024 and needs documentation.
Correction verified Sep 25, 2024. Standard 746.5103.
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Administering Medication - Original Container with Child's Name, Date
3 medications missing date received from parent. Note: this was corrected at inspection when the lead caregiver added the date on the medication.
Corrected during the inspection. Standard 746.3805(b)(1).
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Documentation of Gas Leak Inspection
The last gas inspection was conducted on 8/22/22.
Correction verified Sep 25, 2024. Standard 746.5405.
- Sep 20, 2024Inspection3 findings · serious
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Administering Medication - Original Container with Child's Name, Date
3 medications missing date received from parent. Note: this was corrected at inspection when the lead caregiver added the date on the medication.
Corrected during the inspection. Standard 746.3805(b)(1).
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Documentation of Gas Leak Inspection
The last gas inspection was conducted on 8/22/22.
Correction verified Sep 25, 2024. Standard 746.5405.
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Documentation of Fire Inspection
The last fire marshal inspection was conducted on 9/5/2024 and needs documentation.
Correction verified Sep 25, 2024. Standard 746.5103.
- 2023
- Sep 27, 2023 to Sep 27, 20234 inspectionsNo findingsShow
- Sep 27, 2023 inspection
- Sep 27, 2023 inspection
- Sep 27, 2023 inspection
- Sep 27, 2023 inspection
Show 12 older visits, not counted aboveHide older visits
- 2022
- Sep 30, 2022 to Sep 30, 20224 inspectionsNo findingsShow
- Sep 30, 2022 inspection
- Sep 30, 2022 inspection
- Sep 30, 2022 inspection
- Sep 30, 2022 inspection
- 2021
- Dec 3, 2021 to Dec 3, 20214 inspectionsNo findingsShow
- Dec 3, 2021 inspection
- Dec 3, 2021 inspection
- Dec 3, 2021 inspection
- Dec 3, 2021 inspection
- Oct 5, 2021Inspection4 findings · serious
- SeriousTexas: Medium
Children's Products- Annual Certification
The operation did not have a Children's Products, the last one was done 9/19/2019. Corrected: When the operation updated the form.
Corrected during the inspection. Standard 746.4135(b).
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Emergency Preparedness Plan - Communication Procedures
The operation did not have how they would relocate children who are under 24 months of age
Correction verified Oct 5, 2021. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.5202(2).
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Center use Electronic CO Detection Sys Connected to Alarm/Smoke Detection Sys-Corrections Called for in Report are made
The operation didn't have documentation of testing the CO detection system.
Correction verified Oct 5, 2021. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.5537(b)(4).
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Report Outbreak of Communicable Illness
The operation had a person in the operation that was not reported with COVID. Corrected: When speaking with the operation about when to report COVID case and who to report to within 48 hours of finding out about the COVID.
Correction verified Oct 14, 2021. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.305(a)(4).
- Oct 5, 2021Inspection4 findings · serious
- SeriousTexas: Medium
Children's Products- Annual Certification
The operation did not have a Children's Products, the last one was done 9/19/2019. Corrected: When the operation updated the form.
Corrected during the inspection. Standard 746.4135(b).
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Center use Electronic CO Detection Sys Connected to Alarm/Smoke Detection Sys-Corrections Called for in Report are made
The operation didn't have documentation of testing the CO detection system.
Correction verified Oct 5, 2021. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.5537(b)(4).
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Emergency Preparedness Plan - Communication Procedures
The operation did not have how they would relocate children who are under 24 months of age
Correction verified Oct 5, 2021. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.5202(2).
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Report Outbreak of Communicable Illness
The operation had a person in the operation that was not reported with COVID. Corrected: When speaking with the operation about when to report COVID case and who to report to within 48 hours of finding out about the COVID.
Correction verified Oct 14, 2021. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.305(a)(4).
- Oct 5, 2021Inspection4 findings · serious
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Emergency Preparedness Plan - Communication Procedures
The operation did not have how they would relocate children who are under 24 months of age
Correction verified Oct 5, 2021. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.5202(2).
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Report Outbreak of Communicable Illness
The operation had a person in the operation that was not reported with COVID. Corrected: When speaking with the operation about when to report COVID case and who to report to within 48 hours of finding out about the COVID.
Correction verified Oct 14, 2021. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.305(a)(4).
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Center use Electronic CO Detection Sys Connected to Alarm/Smoke Detection Sys-Corrections Called for in Report are made
The operation didn't have documentation of testing the CO detection system.
Correction verified Oct 5, 2021. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.5537(b)(4).
- SeriousTexas: Medium
Children's Products- Annual Certification
The operation did not have a Children's Products, the last one was done 9/19/2019. Corrected: When the operation updated the form.
Corrected during the inspection. Standard 746.4135(b).
- Oct 5, 2021Inspection4 findings · serious
- SeriousTexas: Medium
Children's Products- Annual Certification
The operation did not have a Children's Products, the last one was done 9/19/2019. Corrected: When the operation updated the form.
Corrected during the inspection. Standard 746.4135(b).
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Emergency Preparedness Plan - Communication Procedures
The operation did not have how they would relocate children who are under 24 months of age
Correction verified Oct 5, 2021. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.5202(2).
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Center use Electronic CO Detection Sys Connected to Alarm/Smoke Detection Sys-Corrections Called for in Report are made
The operation didn't have documentation of testing the CO detection system.
Correction verified Oct 5, 2021. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.5537(b)(4).
- SeriousTexas: Medium High
Report Outbreak of Communicable Illness
The operation had a person in the operation that was not reported with COVID. Corrected: When speaking with the operation about when to report COVID case and who to report to within 48 hours of finding out about the COVID.
Correction verified Oct 14, 2021. Technical assistance given. Standard 746.305(a)(4).
Source. This facility on the Texas HHSC search. Data reloaded nightly.
Think something here is wrong? Texas corrects its own records; here is how to ask them, and how to tell us. We change nothing ourselves.
Facts from the license
- Permit
- Full Permit, issued Dec 7, 1998
- Capacity
- 140 children (licensed maximum, not openings)
- Ages
- Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
- Hours
- 08:15 AM-02:30 PM · Mon,Tue,Wed,Thu,Fri
- Subsidies
- Not accepted
- County
- Harris
Compare nearby
Same 36-month summary window. Different operating histories and coverage limit comparisons.
| Daycare | Ages | Licensed capacity | Hours | Findings, 36 mo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| First Steps Montessori School this page | Toddler–School | 140 | 8:15a–2:30p | 12 ser |
| Kla School of River Oaks | Infant–School | 188 | 6a–6p | No findings |
| Milestone Montessori | Infant–School | 168 | 7:30a–5:30p | 4 crit·4 ser |
- First Steps Montessori Schoolthis pageToddler–School · 140 licensed capacity12 ser
- Infant–School · 188 licensed capacityNo findings
- Infant–School · 168 licensed capacity4 crit·4 ser
Your tour, better prepared
- What will we pay in the first month, and what is refundable? Confirm how the deposit is credited.
- Is a place available for our age group and start date? Can you confirm that in writing?
- Who would be our child’s regular teacher, and how are absences covered? What are the current classroom ratios?
- What changed after the finding about “Documentation of Gas Leak Inspection”? Can you show the correction evidence and how the procedure is checked today?
- The same standard appears on more than one visit. What has changed to prevent recurrence?
- How do you handle allergies, medication, accessibility, and additional support needs?
Enable JavaScript to save visit notes on this browser.
Contact & location
2450 River Oaks Blvd, Houston, TX 77019
State-sourced · checked Sep 16, 2026. Confirm current details with the provider.
State records and provider information have separate sources. Provider claims do not establish independently verified care quality. Missing data is not evidence of an issue-free record.